骑乘质量

Cervélo提升骑乘质量的方法侧重于骑手的体验。我们将骑乘质量定义为符合其预期用途的自行车带来的感受。我们的工程师在制造的每辆自行车上结合运用技术和设计元素,打造理想的骑乘体验。

 专注于您的骑乘体验

对骑乘质量最常见的定义是“骑行舒适”。这种描述在某种程度上是准确的。而一旦深入探究骑乘质量和舒适性的工程设计,情况就会变得极为复杂。经过与舍布鲁克大学的长期合作研究,我们发现,尽管人们对“舒适程度”持有主观意见,但对于“舒适性”或“骑乘质量”却并不存在普遍认可的定义。

考虑到这一点,Cervélo提升骑乘质量的方法侧重于骑手的体验。我们将骑乘质量定义为符合其预期用途的自行车带来的感受。这意味着每辆自行车的骑乘质量设计都是独特、与众不同的。例如,S5空气动力型公路车的最大优势就是速度。因此,我们降低了前端以获得更激进的骑行姿势、更卓越的空气动力学性能和更高的刚性,帮助实现动力传递和操控。

我们的耐力型公路车采用了不同的技术和元素。针对该系列自行车的车架,我们选择了更短、更竖直的几何结构,挑选注重垂直顺性和轻盈质量的车架管形状,然后在不使用超高模量(UHM)碳纤维的情况下打造出能够减震的车架。这些元素相结合,共同为骑手带来了一款满足他们对于提升骑行距离和速度这一愿望的自行车。

舒适性元素

正如我们所说的,对于舒适性很难进行定义和衡量,因为其主观性很强。但是,从静态舒适性和动态舒适性这两方面来看待与舒适性相关的元素,会有所帮助。

静态舒适性

静态舒适性是指您在静态情况下对自行车的感知,例如当您坐在店内的教练机上时。这种情况下,适配度、您与自行车的接触点(脚、臀部、手)以及身体姿势等因素都在起作用。环境会对您对于静态舒适性的感知产生重要影响,例如您当天的精神状态或前一晚的睡眠质量。

动态舒适性

动态舒适性侧重于动态情况下的自行车体验。动态舒适性极为复杂,但有一个因素与感知舒适性密切相关并且可以衡量,即垂直顺性,它是指垂直平面上的偏转(运动),可作为对输入的响应进行衡量。简而言之,垂直顺性代表了自行车对道路颠簸作出响应的能力。

当前轮接触到地面颠簸时,系统中的每个元素都会在一定程度上作出响应,即使您感觉手上有振动。地面颠簸与您身体之间的组件构成了这一系统。下图显示了每个组件在公路车整体顺性中所占的相对比例。这些图表帮助我们把重点放在工程设计上,以便优化自行车的垂直顺性:最佳选择取决于自行车及其预期用途。 

骑乘质量

结论

骑乘质量涉及技术和元素的相互作用,以打造适合自行车预期用途的骑乘体验。

Ride Quality

Cervélo's approach to ride quality focusses on the rider's experience. We define ride quality as the feeling of the bike being appropriate for its intended use. For each of our bikes, our engineers apply technologies and design elements that work together to create the desired ride experience.

 Focused on your ride experience

The most common definition of ride quality is “a comfortable ride.” This is accurate - to a point. When you dive into the engineering side of ride quality and comfort, it starts to become very complex. After conducting a long-term collaborative study with the University of Sherbrooke, we concluded that despite subjective opinions on what is “more or less comfortable,” there are no universally accepted definitions for "comfort" or "ride quality".

With this in mind, Cervélo's approach to ride quality focusses on the rider's experience. We define ride quality as the feeling of the bike being appropriate for its intended use. That means that the application of ride quality will be specific - and different - for each bike. For example, the S5 aero road bike is all about speed. That’s why we lowered the front end for a more aggressive rider position with even better aerodynamics and increased stiffness to aid power transfer and handling.

Different technologies and elements are applied to our C Series endurance road bikes. For these bikes we chose a shorter, more upright geometry for the frame, selected tube shapes that prioritized vertical compliance and light weight, and then constructed the frame without using ultra-high modulus (UHM) carbon for a damped ride feel. Together, these create a bike for riders who want to ride further, faster.

Elements of comfort

As we said, comfort is very difficult to define and measure because it is so subjective. However, it is helpful to look at elements that correlate to comfort in two categories: static and dynamic comfort.

Static comfort

Static comfort is your perception of the bike when at rest, such as when you are sitting on it on a trainer in the shop. In this situation, factors such as fit, your contact points with the bike (feet, seat, hands), and body position are in play. Context will have a big impact on your perception of static comfort - for example whether you stretched that day or how well you slept.

Dynamic comfort

Dynamic comfort focusses on the experience of the bike in motion. Dynamic comfort is very complex, but there is one measurable element that correlates well with perceived comfort: vertical compliance, which is the deflection (movement) in a vertical plane that can be measured as a response to an input. Simply put, vertical compliance represents the bike’s ability to react to a bump in the road.

When the front wheel contacts the bump, even as you sense the impact in your hands, each of the elements in the system deflect to some degree in response. The components between the bump and your body make up the system. The chart below shows the relative contribution of each component to total compliance in a road bike. These charts help us to focus our engineering efforts so that we optimize the vertical compliance of our bikes: what is optimal will depend on the bike and its intended use. 

ride quality

Conclusions

Ride quality involves the interaction of technologies and elements to create a ride experience that is appropriate for a bike's intended use.