问与答:Xena回归铁人三项全能比赛

这位瑞士的Cervélo运动员已经在本赛季取得了若干引人瞩目的铁人70.3成绩。她自5月起连续四次登上领奖台,并在8月于澳大利亚 黄金海岸 和10月于 上海 举办的比赛中接连取胜。

这位新晋的“超级妈妈”讨论了自己的2018年复出、回归全程铁人三项比赛以及看到儿子蹒跚学步的喜悦:

问:您为何回归西澳大利亚铁人三项全程比赛?

答: 巴瑟尔顿是我一直想要参加的比赛,但对于我们来说,它的时间有些靠后。而今年,我的赛季开始得比较晚,因此巴瑟尔顿是我回归铁人三项全程比赛的最佳机会。另外,我只是想看看自己能跑得多快!

问:您何时确信自己已准备好回归铁人三项全程比赛?

答:教练和我决定在中国小试牛刀,看看我在连续比赛的情况下成绩如何以及身体将如何反应。我不确定自己的身体状态如何,但我能在一周内赢得两项铁人三项70.3距离赛,而第二场比赛的成绩比第一场比赛更好。我们认为这可指明未来的方向。

问:这次,您的全程训练有何不同?

答: 大有不同!我们试着保留了常规的70.3训练,但这些训练大多较长,因此我们跳过了一些快速训练。跑步的运动量也大大增加,每周有超过一次长距离骑车,并且游泳的强度也更大。

xena

问:在本周末的比赛中,您的成功关键将是什么?

答: 配速、配速,还是配速!之前三年,我只参加了70.3比赛,我想我可能要放慢脚步并且更有耐心。

问:2018赛季您的最大收获是什么?

答: Xander上周六刚刚学会了走路。我很担心在游泳或跑步时错过了这个重要的时刻,但看起来他很了解自己的妈妈,把这个宝贵的时刻留到了周六晚上。当然还有我在重返比赛之后的首次胜利。我热爱胜利,我猜这是我的天性。

问:2018赛季的最大挑战是什么?

答: 走出家门,再次开始运动。在怀孕后再次回到巅峰状态绝对是我人生中最大的挑战之一。我必须减掉25公斤才能满足比赛的体重要求。曾经有一个阶段,我认为自己再也不会重回高水平比赛了,只是和Xander待在一起就让我很开心。我必须学会放手并不要时时刻刻与这个小家伙腻在一起。

问:您如何做到了这种转变?

答: 每一天,计划和现实之间总是存在差距。我试着在Xander睡着后外出训练,这样我在家时就能和他一起玩玩。他现在这个年龄刚好,睡觉和吃饭时间已经形成了规律。我依然给他母乳喂养,因此这是我人生中的一个新的考虑因素。我的多数训练现在都在室内完成,这可为我节省大把时间,并且也更加高效。我的训练中不再需要补跑,不会再为咖啡馆驻足……我将这些时间用在训练后陪Xander外出玩耍上。我现在是位母亲了,生活发生了变化,但这种变化简直太秒了!

问:下个赛季呢?您对比赛的未来设想是什么?

答: 我想在巴瑟尔顿的比赛之后再做计划。有了孩子之后,想做长远规划很难。我还不确定要将重心放在全程还是70.3铁人三项比赛中,但无论如何,我都有很多比赛要参加。

 

照片来源:Witsup.com

Q&A: Xena’s return to full Ironman

Three years removed from her last full-distance race, and less than 12 months after giving birth, Caroline “Xena” Steffen is set to attack Ironman Western Australia this weekend.
11/30/2018
xena

The Swiss Cervélo athlete has already earned several impressive Ironman 70.3 results this season. She has reeled off four straight podiums since May, with consecutive victories coming on Australia’s Sunshine Coast in August, and in Shanghai in October.

Here, the newly nicknamed “Supermom” discusses her 2018 comeback, her return to full-distance Ironman, and the joy of seeing her son’s first steps:

Q: Why are you returning to full-distance racing at Ironman Western Australia?

A: Busselton is a race I have always wanted to do, but it was too late in the year for us. So this year, with starting my season late, Busselton is the perfect opportunity to make my way back to full IM-distance racing. Plus, I simply want to see how fast I can go!

Q: When did you know you were ready to return to full IM?

A: Coach and I decided to do a little test in China to see how I would do racing back to back and to see how the body responded. I wasn’t sure how my fitness was going, but I was able to win two Ironman 70.3-distance races in one week, and the second race was even stronger than the first. We thought that was a really good indicator of where I am heading.

Q: What’s different about your full-distance training this time around?

A: It’s very different! We try to keep the routine of my 70.3 program, but the sessions are mostly longer and we skip some fast stuff. Run volume has increased a lot, I’m getting more than one long ride in each week, and the swim involves more strength work.

xena

Q: What will be the keys to your success in the race this weekend?

A: Pacing pacing pacing. After three years of racing 70.3 only, I think I may need to slow down a little and be more patient.

Q: What has been most rewarding about the 2018 season?

A: Xander’s first steps just last Saturday. I was so worried to miss out on it while in the pool or out running, but it looks like he knew his mum well enough to save it for Saturday night. Oh, and of course, my first win back after returning to racing. I just love winning, I guess it’s in my nature.

Q: What has been the biggest challenge of the 2018 season?

A: To get out of the house and start getting fit again. Returning to full fitness after pregnancy was definitely one of the biggest challenges I have ever faced in my life. I had to lose 25kg to be back in race shape. There was a stage when I thought I would never compete at a high level again, and was just happy to stay home all day with Xander. I had to learn to let go and share the little bub.

Q: How were you able to make that transition?

A: Each day there is always a plan and then there is reality. I try to train when Xander is asleep so we can play when I am home. He’s at an awesome age now and is more in a routine with his sleep and eating times. I am still breastfeeding him, so that’s another new consideration in my life. Most of my training is indoors now, which saves me a lot of time and is much more efficient too. No makeup kms in my program anymore, no more coffee stops...I save that time for after my training and take Xander to the playground. I am a mum now, life is different but bloody brilliant!

Q: What about next season? What does the future hold in terms of racing?

A: I really want to wait with making any plans till after Busselton. It’s hard to plan too much ahead with the little mate. I’m not sure yet whether I will focus on full or 70.3 Ironman, but one way or another there will be a lot of racing involved.

 

Photos courtesy of Witsup.com