刚性

自行车的刚性对您的骑乘体验有很大影响。当您骑一辆能够高效传递动力且操控灵敏的自行车时,您会立即产生人车合一之感,这得益于中轴、前叉和头管的刚性。Cervélo花费数年时间研究和测试不同类型的刚性,为您打造一流的骑乘体验。

经过长时间的研究和测试,Cervélo确定了对自行车性能影响最大的特定类型的车架刚性。

转向刚性

转向刚性是对自行车操控性能影响最大的车架刚性类型。转向刚性通常被称为扭转刚性或头管刚性。转向刚性是指车架在转弯时的扭转程度。一般而言,较高的转向刚性能够减少手部力量与自行车和骑手的反应之间的滞后时间,从而实现更灵敏的操控性能。

用工程术语来描述的话,转弯是指施加在车把、车座以及轮胎与路面接触点上的一系列的力(“载荷工况”)。其中的一部分力是反向的,在根本上实现了车架的扭转。来自车把的载荷路径通过车头碗组轴承引入车架,来自车座的载荷路径通过座杆引入车架。

在实验室,我们通过在车架的这些点上支持或施加力来模拟这些载荷路径的实际应用。我们甚至模拟轮胎接触点所受的力。我们希望确保将我们在实验室得出的知识转化为骑手可以感知的性能。

Cervélo对转向刚性的测试令我们有别于其他自行车制造商。传统的行业测试要求从后叉端将车架固定在测试夹具上并支撑头管的中心。然后将扭转载荷施加到头管上,实现车架的扭转。虽然这样确实可以使车架处于扭转状态,但并不能反映真实的载荷情况。但是,通过模拟来自轮胎以及骑手惯性的转弯载荷,我们能够去除对转向刚性没有影响的碳纤维层,从而减轻车架重量。最终结果是车架重量更轻,而且仍能保持相同的有效转向刚性。

转向刚性的大小取决于预期用途。刚性太小,会导致缺乏力度的骑行体验。您也可能遇到转向刚性过高的情况:车架的某个点非常僵硬(转向时),骑手享受不到任何好处,而且自行车可能会感觉不太舒适,因为更多的振动被传递到了手上。

踏板刚度

踏板刚度也称为中轴刚度。当骑手踩下踏板时,车架会横向偏转。刚性车架偏转较少,因此更多的能量被用于转动后轮,而不会导致车架变形。

踏板刚度的大小取决于很多因素,包括骑手的力量输出,自行车的使用方式以及车架尺寸(和骑手身材)。场地车的车架所需的蹬踏刚度通常比耐力型自行车或铁人三项自行车更高,但是,更高的踏板刚度对它们都更有利。

然而,踏板刚度可能会过高。与转向刚度一样,可以将踏板刚度增加到骑手察觉不到差异的程度。在此基础上,任何增加的刚度只会增加材料,这意味着重量会增加。

测试:常见的踏板刚度测试方法测量在水平或垂直平面上施加的力下发生的偏转。我们在测试时,从15度倾斜角度上施加力以模拟真实的骑行条件。头管被固定以模拟身体离开车座进行冲刺的情形,同时在与踏板力矢量相同的方向上进行测量,以获得蹬踏效率的精确测量。同样,后轮在轮胎接触面得到支撑,以更加接近地模拟真实条件。

车座垂直刚度

车座垂直刚度表示当骑手坐在车座上时座杆底部的移动量。此刚度与车架的骑行舒适性有关。我们测量车座垂直刚度时未考虑车座或座杆的影响,这两者都对车座垂直刚度有显著作用。我们仅在测量时孤立车架的性能。

很多其他因素也会影响自行车的舒适性 - 轮胎和车轮是对垂直刚度影响最大的因素,其次是座杆、车座和车架。因此,即使车座垂直刚度相同的车架也可能感觉大相径庭。这意味着比较不同自行车或各个车架之间的垂直刚度并不总是那么容易。

一般来说,我们希望尽可能降低车架的车座垂直刚度,以便获得最大舒适性;然而,过低又会导致蹬踏时出现意外振动或移动,这会降低效率和骑手的控制能力。对场地车来说,舒适性不是首要考虑的问题,较高的车座垂直刚度实际上更有利。

测试:这是要测试的最简单的载荷情况。我们在车座上直接施加一个力并测量它的偏转距离。使用钢制模拟车座和座杆能够有效地消除这些组件对测量的影响。

Stiffness

The stiffness of your bike has a big impact on your ride experience. The instant connection you feel when you ride a bike with efficient power transfer and responsive handling is a result of stiffness of the bottom bracket area, fork, and head tube. Cervélo has spent years researching and testing these different types of stiffness to create the best possible riding experience for you.

Through many hours of research and testing, Cervélo has defined the particular types of frame stiffness that have the greatest impact on a bike's performance.

STEERING STIFFNESS

Steering stiffness is the type of frame stiffness that most affects how a bike handles. It is commonly called torsional or head tube stiffness. Steering stiffness is defined as how much the bike frame twists when it is ridden around a corner. Generally speaking, higher steering stiffness leads to more responsive handling by reducing the lag time between input from the hands and reaction in the bike and rider.

Cornering can be described in engineering terms by a set of forces (the “load case”) applied at the handlebars, the saddle, and the tires’ contact points on the road. Some of these forces are in opposite directions, essentially twisting the frame. The load path from the handlebar flows into the frame through the headset bearings, and the load path from the saddle flows into the frame through the seat post.

In the lab, we mimic the application of these load paths by supporting or applying force at these points on the frame. We even mimic the forces at the contact points of the tires. We want to be sure that what we learn in the lab translates into performance that can be felt by the rider.

Cervélo's testing of steering stiffness sets us apart from other bike manufacturers. The traditional industry test calls for the frame to be fixed to a jig at the rear dropouts and supported in the centre of the head tube. A torsional load is then applied to the head tube and the frame is essentially twisted. While this does put the frame under torsion, it is not a realistic load case. But by simulating the cornering loads from the tires as well as from the rider's inertia, we have been able to reduce frame weight by removing carbon plies that had no effect on steering stiffness. The end result is reduced frame weight for the same effective steering stiffness.

The right amount of steering stiffness depends on the intended use. Too little stiffness, and the result is a “wet noodle” riding experience. You can also have too much steering stiffness: there is a point where the frame is so stiff (in steering) that the rider does not notice any benefit and may find that it makes the bike feel less comfortable, as more vibrations are transmitted to the hands.

PEDALING STIFFNESS

Pedaling stiffness is also known as bottom bracket stiffness. When a rider pushes down on a pedal the frame deflects laterally. Stiff frames deflect less, so more of your energy goes into turning the rear wheel, rather than deforming the frame.

How much pedaling stiffness is needed depends on many factors, including rider power output, how the bike is used, and frame (and rider) size. Track frames generally require more pedaling stiffness than endurance or triathlon bikes, but all benefit from higher pedaling stiffness.

However, pedaling stiffness can to be too high. As with steering stiffness, it is possible to increase pedaling stiffness to a level where the rider will not notice the difference. From that point on, any added stiffness only adds material, which means weight.

Testing: Common testing approaches for pedalling stiffness measure deflection under a force applied at either a horizontal or vertical plane. In our case, we apply force at a 15-degree lean angle to simulate real riding. The headtube is fixed to simulate out-of-saddle sprinting, and measurements are taken in the same direction as the pedal force vector to get an accurate measurement of pedaling efficiency. Again, the rear wheel is supported at the tire contact patch to more closely simulate real world conditions.

VERTICAL SADDLE STIFFNESS

Vertical saddle stiffness expresses how much the base of the seat post will move when a rider sits on the saddle. This stiffness is related to how comfortable a frame is to ride. We measure vertical saddle stiffness without including the effects of the saddle or seat post, both of which contribute significantly to the vertical saddle stiffness. By doing this we isolate the performance of the frame only in the measurement.

Many other factors affect a bike's comfort - tires and wheels are the most important contributors to vertical stiffness, with seat post, saddle and frame next on the list. For this reason, it is possible for frames with the same vertical saddle stiffness to feel very different. That means it is not always easy to compare vertical stiffness on different bikes or between individual frames.

Generally, we want the frame’s vertical saddle stiffness to be as low as possible for the most comfort; however, when it gets too low, there can be unexpected bobbing or movement when pedaling that decreases efficiency and rider control. On the track, where comfort is less of a concern, a high vertical saddle stiffness can actually be beneficial.

Testing: This is the simplest load case to test. We apply a force straight down at the saddle and measure how far it deflects. Using a steel analog saddle and seat post effectively removes these components from contributing to the measurement.