Cervélo最大可配备什么尺寸的轮胎?

 

宽轮圈技术的最新突破以及除23c轮胎以外各种选择的日益普及促使Cervélo在最新推出的型号中重新定义了轮胎间隙。我们不仅设计出可配备更大尺寸轮胎的新款自行车,还开发了一种为每款车架指定最大允许轮胎尺寸的新方法。

在以往,公路车配备的是ETRTO定义的铝合金轮圈和23c轮胎,其宽度约为23mm。随着更宽的轮圈和轮胎以及碟刹的出现,自行车车架的轮胎间隙设计在短短几年内发生了翻天覆地的变化。而2016年颁布的新版自行车安全ISO标准则推波助澜,规定了轮胎与车架之间的合法最小间隙。

针对最新型号,我们在设计之初采用最大轮胎和间隙模型,以扩展从设计基准轮胎尺寸着手的概念。在过去,我们力求为特定尺寸找到可能的最大轮胎,将其安装在最大的轮圈上,并以此作为我们的设计目标。然而,我们发现存在太多变数,因此无法沿用这种方法。今后,我们不会再出现“所有某某尺寸的轮胎”均适配这样的表述,而是将提供针对自行车型号选择的实际设计基准轮胎尺寸(即车轮直径和所安装轮胎的宽度),并会规定不要超出这些允许尺寸。

注意:在考虑可能使用的轮胎与车架的兼容性时,必须注意轮胎的最大测量尺寸,不应依赖于制造商的标称值,因为这些取决于实际的轮胎压力、载荷、轮圈宽度、轮圈ERD以及轮胎模具精度。

不符合这些设计基准轮胎尺寸会导致车架或前叉损坏。猛力蹬踏、春季的泥浆或积冰或者新铺设的路面上溅起的石子等情形会使车轮弯曲,并导致大号轮胎撞击车架。这些都是现实风险,必须加以重视。

 

图1:轮胎至车架间隙

上图为我们典型的新车架设计的轮胎间隙模型。灰色的车架采用硬模具制造,这意味着其表面不会与初始设计有显著差异。轮胎为蓝色,绿色的是设计基准轮胎尺寸。实际的车架设计间隙模型以红色表示。这两个尺寸之间的差异为4mm(每侧),即ISO规定的最小允许安全间隙。

轮胎宽度

为了确定要使用的轮胎间隙模型,我们开始另辟蹊径。我们不再试图进行全面测量,而是针对不同的车架类别选择特定的轮毂和轮胎,包括最新设计和最受欢迎的设计。我们与零售商、消费者及销售团队合作,研究消费者趋势,并与轮毂和轮胎供应商交流。而且,新的研究证实了我们之前的认知,即在较低压力下充气的较大轮胎可带来更舒适的骑乘体验。但研究也表明,通过采用更宽的轮毂和现代轮胎,这种配置的滚动阻力不一定比高压窄轮胎更高。这导致许多消费者开始在所有类型的自行车上都使用他们以前绝对不会考虑的更宽的轮胎。基于上述种种原因,我们对一系列轮毂和轮胎进行了测量,详情如下。

如何测量(实际)轮胎宽度

  • 将轮胎充气至最大推荐充气压力(列于轮胎侧壁上)。
  • 使用经过校准的游标卡尺,在四个点(12、3、6及9点钟方向)测量最宽处的轮胎宽度。计算测得宽度的平均值,即为最终结果。

如何测量(实际)轮胎直径

我们认为测量直径的行业最佳方法是对轮胎进行滚动测试。

  • 将轮胎充气至最大推荐充气压力(列于轮胎侧壁上)。
  • 为了获得准确结果,自行车在进行滚动测试期间必须保持平直。我们制作了一条金属车道,可确保自行车保持平直,并且长度足够使车轮转数达到五转。
  • 起始点标记在轮胎上,自行车车轮最好完整转动五圈。在长度允许及量尺适用的情况下,转数应尽可能的多。通常为3转左右。
  • 我们重复此滚动五次以确保准确性。在家中进行测试时,您只需测量一次即可。
  • 对测得的五次滚动的距离取平均值,然后除以五(或测试的任意转数)得出轮毂圆周,再除以圆周率 (π) 或3.1415927将圆周转换为直径。

设计基准轮胎尺寸

接着,我们必须运用所有这些信息确定要选择的尺寸。我们决定为不同系列的自行车选择不同的轮胎间隙模型,而不是单一的轮胎间隙模型。同样要注意的是,轮胎间隙并不是可以自由选择的。刚性、重量和轮胎间隙之间必须进行权衡,因此,要在计时赛自行车上留出35mm轮胎的空间必须付出代价。我们根据使用方式并凭借经验对每个系列的轮胎尺寸和刚性值进行平衡。

这是什么意思呢?您的Cervélo自行车上所配备的轮胎必须能达到法律规定的与车架及前叉的最小间隙。如果您要将Cervélo上的轮胎(或轮毂)更换为其他轮胎(或轮毂),则必须确保轮胎宽度和直径等于或小于每个车架规定的最大允许值。这些值可在每个型号的几何结构页面中找到,亦可查看下面列出的目前所有车架的最大允许值摘要。使用上述方法测量您要使用的特定轮胎尺寸和轮毂组合的最大宽度和直径 - 不要依赖侧壁上列示的轮胎尺寸。请注意,根据安装轮胎的实际轮毂,轮胎的宽度和直径可能存在巨大差异。

轮胎间隙示意图

Why do I see what looks like wrinkles on my new P5X

FURTHER CLARITY ON TIRE CLEARANCE

Graham Shrive - Design Engineer Manager
9/15/2015

 What is the largest size tire I can put on my Cervélo?

 

Recent advances in wide rim technology and the rising popularity of options beyond the ubiquitous 23c tire have prompted Cervélo to update the definition of tire clearance on our latest models. Not only have we designed our new bikes to fit larger tires, we have developed a new way of specifying maximum allowable tire size for each frame.

In the past, road bikes came with ETRTO defined aluminum alloy rims and 23c tires, which measured somewhere around 23mm wide. With the advent of wider rims, wider tires and disc brakes, bicycle frame design for tire clearance has changed drastically in only a few short years. Further compounding this was the 2016 release of new ISO standards for bicycle safety, which specify legal minimum clearances between the tire and frame.

For our new models we have expanded on the concept of starting with a design-basis tire dimension by specifying a maximum tire-plus-clearance model when we initiate design. In the past, we attempted to find the largest tire possible in a given size, install it on the largest rim, and establish that as our design goal. However, we found that there are simply too many variables to continue with this method. Moving forward, instead of stating that “all such-and-such-size tires” will fit, we will provide the actual design-basis tire dimensions chosen for the bike model (in the form of wheel diameter and installed tire width), and require that these allowable dimensions are not exceeded.

NOTE: When considering a prospective tire’s compatibility with the frame, it’s important to respect the maximum measured size of tires, rather than relying on the manufacturer's nominal values, which are dependant on real-world tire pressure, loading, rim width, rim ERD, and tire-mold accuracy.

Failing to adhere to these design-basis tire dimensions can result in damage to the frame or fork. Circumstances that promote wheel flex under hard efforts, mud or ice buildup during spring riding, or picking up a rock from a freshly paved road, may cause an oversized tire to impact the frame. These are all realistic risks and should be taken seriously.

 

Figure 1: Tire to Frame Clearance

The image above depicts our tire-clearance model for a typical new frame design. The frame, in grey, is manufactured using a hard-tooled mold, which means the surfaces will not vary significantly from the initial design. The tire is blue with the design basis tire dimension given in green. The actual frame design clearance model is shown in red. The difference between these two dimensions is 4mm (per side), which is the ISO required minimum allowable clearance for safety.

Tire Width

To determine what tire clearance models to use, we started differently. Rather than trying to measure everything, we chose specific wheels and tires for different frame categories, including the latest designs and the most popular ones. We worked with our retailers, consumers and sales team to look at consumer trends, as well as talking with wheel and tire suppliers. Furthermore, new research has confirmed the old knowledge that larger tires inflated at lower pressures provide a more comfortable ride. But in addition, it has shown that by using wider wheels and modern tires, the rolling resistance of this type of setup is not necessarily any worse than a thin tire at high pressure. This has lead to many consumers pushing to go to wider tires on all kinds of bikes that they would not have considered previously. Based on all this, we measured a range of wheels and tires as detailed below.

How (Actual) Tire Width is Measured

  • The tire is inflated to maximum recommended inflation pressure (as listed on the tire sidewall).
  • Using a calibrated vernier caliper, the width of the tire at the widest point is measured at four points (12, 3, 6, and 9 o’clock). The resulting widths are averaged to give the final result.

How (Actual) Tire Diameter is Measured

We believe the industry best practice to measure diameter is to perform a tire rollout test.

  • The tires are inflated to maximum recommended inflation pressure (as listed on the tire sidewall).
  • To get an accurate result it is critical to keep the bike straight during the rollout. We built a metal track that ensures the bike stays straight, and is long enough to accommodate five wheel revolutions.
  • The starting point is marked on the tire and the bike is rolled for five complete wheel revolutions, ideally. You should rollout for as many revolutions as you can fit and your tape measure will work for. This is usually around 3.
  • We repeat this rollout five times to ensure accuracy. When doing at home you can just do a single measurement.
  • The resulting distances for the five rollouts are averaged, and then are divided by five (or however many revolutions were done) to give one wheel circumference. Circumference is translated into diameter by dividing by pi (π) or 3.1415927.

Design Basis Tire Dimensions

Using all of this information we then had to actually come up with what dimensions to choose. Rather than trying to pick one single tire clearance model, we decided to have different ones for our different series of bikes. It is also important to note that tire clearance is not ‘free’. There is a tradeoff between stiffness, weight and tire clearance so having space for 35mm tires on a TT bike will come at a price. We used our experience to balance tire sizes and stiffness values for each series, based on how they are used.

What does all this mean? The tires equipped on your Cervélo complete bike were chosen to ensure the legally required minimum clearances to the frame and fork are met. If you want to change the tires (or wheels) on your Cervélo to something different than what it came with, you need to ensure that the tire width and diameter are equal to or less than the maximum allowable values given for each frame. These values can be found under the Geometry web page for each model, but are listed below as a summary for all current frames. Use the above described methods for measuring the maximum width and diameter of the specific tire size and wheel combination you would like to use - DO NOT rely on the size of the tire listed on the sidewall. Remember that a tire’s width and diameter can change drastically depending on the exact wheel it is mounted on.

Bike Model P5, P3, P2, T4, T5GB P5X, S2 R5D, R5, R3D, R3, R2, S5D, S3, S3D C5, C3, C2
Max Allowable Tire Width mm 23mm 25mm 30mm 32mm*
Max Allowable Tire Diameter (OD) mm 677mm 683mm 693mm 700mm*

* : without fenders. Max 28mm, 688mm with SKS P35 fenders