至于全面复出的时间点,对现年40岁的Caroline来说应该是5月份,这位瑞士Cervélo运动员正式重返职业赛道并在越南70.3铁人三项赛上夺得第三名。

像Xena这样的传奇运动员复出时都少不了奖杯加持,而这个奖杯是在三个月后举行的 Ironman 70.3 Sunshine Coast上斩获的,她还成功晋级9月7日于法国尼斯举行的2019年70.3铁人三项世界锦标赛。但Xena并未止步于此。她在 10月份的上海70.3铁人赛 - 中夺冠,创造了连续五次登上领奖台并取得三连胜的成绩 - 接着她又打破西澳铁人赛的赛道记录,为个人精彩赛季再添一项荣誉。在此期间,她还参加了10月12日举行的2019年铁人三项世界锦标赛。

她的53:54游泳成绩和骑乘 Cervélo P5 取得的4:44:52骑行成绩都创下了女子组最高纪录。她凭借巨大的领先优势进入马拉松赛,并最终赢得了比赛,总计用时8:49:46。

“扎实的游泳技能和出色的自行车性能是关键。”Caroline在赛后表示,“自从上一次参加Kona 2015的铁人赛以来,我还没有完成过180公里的比赛。所以下半场比赛的表现如何无法预知。我的身体状况保持得很好,骑行时成功超越了其他人。这使我得以参加比赛并打破了场上纪录。”

赛道两旁的大批观众为这位新晋冠军大声喝彩。她把家安在澳大利亚东部的麦夸里港。“我让自己比往常提前开始庆祝胜利,并享受起最后一公里的赛程。”Caroline说道,“然后,当然,在我越过终点线时,我的爱人Pete Murray大声喊我,我的儿子Xander也在现场,这个特别的时刻令人难忘。”

与朋友和家人欢度节日并为Xander庆祝第一个生日之后,Caroline将开始制定2019年的比赛计划。“在今年结束之前成功晋级70.3铁人三项赛和铁人三项世界锦标赛让我在下一赛季没有了任何晋级压力。”她补充道,“现在我可以尽情放松,继续手头正在做的事。”

All the way back

Less than a month before her son’s first birthday — and more than three years removed from her last full-distance race — Caroline “Xena” Steffen triumphed at Ironman Western Australia on Sunday.
12/03/2018

At what point is a comeback complete? For Caroline, 40, it could be argued that this was achieved in May, when the Swiss Cervélo athlete returned to the pro circuit with an impressive third-place showing at Ironman 70.3 Vietnam.

No comeback by a legend like Xena could really be complete without a victory, and this came three months later at Ironman 70.3 Sunshine Coast, where she also qualified for the 2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship on Sept. 7 in Nice, France. But Xena didn’t stop there. She won Ironman 70.3 Shanghai in October — making it five straight podiums and three straight victories — and then added an exclamation mark to her inspiring season by shattering the course record at Ironman Western Australia. In the process, she also punched her ticket for the 2019 Ironman World Championship on Oct. 12.

Her 53:54 swim and 4:44:52 bike split on her Cervélo P5 were both fastest among the women’s field, and with a huge lead heading into the marathon she cruised to victory in an overall time of 8:49:46.

“A solid swim and strong bike performance were the keys,” Caroline said after the race. “I haven’t done 180km since my last Ironman, which was at Kona 2015. So it was a little unknown how it would go in the second half of the race. The body stayed strong, and I was able to keep pushing away from everyone else on the bike. This set me up to run my race and break the course record.”

The large crowd lining the course cheered loudly for the new champion, who makes her home in Port Macquarie on the east of Australia. “I allowed myself to celebrate a little earlier than usual and enjoy the last kms,” Caroline said. “And then, of course, getting called across the finish line by my partner Pete Murray, and seeing my son Xander, was a very special moment.”

After spending plenty of time with friends and family over the holidays, and celebrating Xander’s first birthday, Caroline will determine her race program for 2019. “Being already qualified for Ironman 70.3 and Ironman World Champs before the end of the year leaves me without any qualification pressure for next season,” she adds. “Now I can relax and keep doing what I’m doing.”