空气动力学

空气动力学是我们在Cervélo所做工作的核心。公司成立的目的是让骑车者的速度更快,而利用空气动力学是实现这一目标的最佳方式。我们采用系统的方式来提高空气动力学性能,将自行车、骑手和所有组件作为一个整体加以考虑。自行车不会自己行驶,因此我们在设计或测试自行车时不会忽视骑手的影响。这意味着我们的自行车不仅在风洞测试中速度很快,而且在路上骑起来也很快。

空气阻力是影响自行车和骑手的主要因素——它可以占到骑手必须克服的总体阻力的90%。有几种类型的阻力与我们息息相关。首先是压差阻力。当物体(在这种情况下为自行车和骑手)穿过空气时,它会将空气分子推开,以穿过空气。这些分子会对物体施加反作用力,产生压力。这个压力向后(物体后部)的分量即称为压差阻力。

其次是摩擦阻力。与所有流体一样,空气具有粘度(或者“稠度”)。与物体接触的空气分子会粘附在其表面并相对于物体保持静止。当物体继续通过空气时,其他空气分子会沿着平行路径以气流层的形式围绕物体流动,从粘附在物体表面的分子旁边通过。这就是层流边界层。空气的粘性特性会产生剪切力或摩擦阻力。

在几乎所有物体上,层流到某些点时将无法继续保持,空气分子将出现翻腾混合,不再平稳地流动。过渡点就是湍流边界层开始的位置。气流的这种特性与称为雷诺数的参数有关,该参数由气流的若干物理特征决定。层流状态的雷诺数最高大约为10,000。雷诺数超过10,000以后,气流将转变为“湍流”气流,如下图所示。

示意图

由于空气有质量,移动的空气具有惯性,因此不容易跟随高曲率表面移动。在这种条件下,空气会与物体分离,形成低压区域,“吸住”表面,造成更大的阻力。如果物体的后缘不能再将空气整齐地汇聚到一起,则会出现“失速气流”,形成一个低压循环空气区域。这种低压会进一步吸住表面,增加更多阻力。

在设计我们的自行车和部件以减少空气阻力时,我们可以影响两个不同的参数。第一个是风阻系数,这是一个基于物体形状以及气流如何在物体周围流动的因素。不同的形状对阻力有着不同的影响。例如,圆形形状的阻力大约是我们TrueAeroTM管型的24倍。管型相对于气流的方向也会影响其风阻:例如,座管与下管形成一定的角度,意味着空气会撞击更一个接近于椭圆的形状,从而改变风阻系数。

我们可以控制的另一个参数是迎风面积。这点很容易理解:面积越大,阻力就越大。我们的工程师也考虑了这一点:例如,我们的铁人三项和空气动力型公路车的设计使得骑手和自行车(作为一个整体系统)形成的迎风面积尽可能最小,以获得最大的空气动力学优势。

风阻系数“CD”和迎风面积“A”与物体受到的总阻力的关系参见以下公式:

示意图

 

上述公式中的其他参数分别为物体通过空气的速度“V”和空气密度“ρ”(Rho)。这也是为什么很多自行车速度记录都是在高海拔地区创下的,因为较低的空气密度可以直接减小阻力。

这些空气阻力是自行车和骑手的最大阻力来源,最高可达到需要克服的总阻力的90%。这意味着,通过尽量减小“CD”和“A”来设计我们的自行车和部件以降低风阻,是使骑手骑得更快的有效手段。不过,通过身体位置、部件设计或其他手段尽量减小骑手的阻力也很重要,因此需要以系统的方式来确保速度最快的总体效果。自行车不会自己行驶,因此我们在设计或测试自行车时不会忽视骑手的影响。

如需详细了解我们的系统性空气动力学设计方法如何帮助我们打造速度最快自行车,请参阅我们的空气动力学技术论文。

Aerodynamics

Aerodynamics is at the very core of what we do at Cervélo. The company was founded with the goal of making cyclists faster, and using aerodynamics is the best way to achieve that goal. We take a system approach to aerodynamics, considering the bike, rider, and all components together. A bike never rides itself, and so we don’t design or test our bikes without a rider. It means that our bikes are not just fast in the wind tunnel, but fast out on the road with you as well.

Aerodynamic drag is the major factor affecting a bike and rider - it can account for up to 90% of the overall resistance that a rider must overcome. There are several types of drag relevant for us. First, pressure drag. As a body (in this case a bike and rider) passes through the air, it forces the air molecules to move out of the way in order to pass through them. These molecules push back on the body, creating pressure. The component of this pressure that faces aft (to the rear of the body) is called pressure drag.

Secondly, there is friction drag. Air, like all fluids, has viscosity (or "thickness"). The air molecules that come into contact with the body stick to its surface and stay stationary in relation to the body. As the body continues through the air, other air molecules pass by the stuck molecules as they flow around the body in layers, following parallel paths. This is the laminar boundary layer. The viscous nature of air creates a shear force, or friction drag.

At some point on nearly all bodies, laminar flow cannot be maintained and the air molecules tumble and mix instead of flowing smoothly. The transition point is where this turbulent boundary layer begins. This behaviour of flow is related to a parameter called the Reynolds number, which is determined by several physical characteristics of the flow. The laminar flow regime exists up to Reynolds numbers of around 10,000. Beyond Reynolds numbers of 10,000, the flow transitions to “turbulent” flow, as shown in the figure below.

graph

Due to its mass, moving air has inertia and therefore cannot easily follow high-curvature surfaces. Under these conditions air separates from the body, creating low pressure regions that "pull" on the surface, contributing to more drag. If the trailing edge of the body fails to guide the air neatly back together again, there is a “stalled flow” — a region of recirculating air that has low pressure. This low pressure again pulls on the surface, adding still more drag.

In designing our bikes and components to minimize aerodynamic drag, there are two different parameters we can affect. The first is the drag coefficient, which is a factor based on the shape of a body and how the air flows around it. Different shapes have different effects on drag. For example, a circular shape has roughly 24 times the drag of our TrueAeroTM tube shape. The orientation of the tube shapes to the airflow also affects its drag: the seat post and down tubes, for example, are presented at an angle, meaning the air hits a shape that’s closer to an ellipse, changing the drag coefficient.

The other parameter we can control is frontal area. This is intuitive: the larger the area, the bigger the drag. Our engineers take this into account: for example, our P, PX and S Series bikes are designed so that the rider and bike (as an integrated system) present the smallest frontal area possible, for maximum aerodynamic advantage.

The drag coefficient, CD, and the frontal area, A, are related to the total drag a body sees by the following equation:

graph

 

The other parameters in this equation are the velocity of the body through the air, V, and the density of the air, ρ (Rho). This is also the reason that many bicycle speed records attempts are made at high altitude, since the lower air density has a direct reduction on drag.

These aerodynamic forces are the largest source of drag on a bike and rider, up to 90% of the total resistance that they see. This means that designing our bikes and components to minimize drag, by minimizing both CD and A, is an efficient means of making the rider faster. However, minimizing the drag on the rider, through body position, component design or other means, is also important and so a systems approach is needed to ensure the fastest overall result. A bike never rides itself, and so we don’t design or test our bikes without a rider for this reason.

Further details on how our system approach to aerodynamics helps us to make the fastest bikes are available in our Aerodynamics Tech Paper.